Our Mission

The Mission of the Ben Vereen Awards San Diego Competition is to utilize a competitive Tony® Awards style adjudication process, to find the very best of high school musical theater talent in San Diego County; and in collaboration with the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA), to present these talented young performers with a unique scholarship opportunity to advance their educations and careers in the genre of musical theater.

  • The January 30, 2016 Deadline to Apply for the 2016 Ben Vereen Awards has now passed. Please visit this website again in August of 2016 to find details on applying for the 2017 Ben Vereen Awards.
  • Adjudications of participating 2016 San Diego County High School Musicals are well under way and will continue until May 8, 2016.
  • Please join us at The Ben Vereen Awards competition event which will take place Sunday, May 29, 2016 at the Balboa Theatre in San Diego, CA.