A look back at the 2017 competition…

The Ben Vereen Awards and Broadway/San Diego-Nederlander are proud to Announce the 2017 winners!

The 2017 Ben Vereen Awards was a star-studded and glamorous event which took place on Sunday, May 28, 2017 at the historic Balboa Theatre. Over the course of the evening the audience was treated to inspiring performances by 20 talented Best Actor/Best Actress Nominees. Also presented were stunning group performances by 5 Best Musical Nominees. Together, these performances represented the best of the best of High School Musical Theater in San Diego County.

The competition was fierce and the panel of VIP/Celebrity Judges certainly had their work cut out for them, but after a glorious evening of performances, the two San Diego champions were chosen (one male/one female), to represent our region at the Jimmy Awards, also known as the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA) on Broadway in New York City!

The 2017 San Diego
Ben Vereen Awards

Here are the 2017 Ben Vereen Award Winners!



Sky Frank,
San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts


Jillian Strattman,
San Dieguito Academy



Cathedral Catholic High School,
“Anything Goes”